One of the great advantages of social networks is that they serve the marketing strategy of any business. It does not matter if you are the person in charge of an international company or a local SME, or that you have a small budget for that advertising campaign: in all cases, you will have the possibility of reaching a potential market adjusted to your needs and promoting your products and services with costs adjusted to your possibilities.
From the time you get up to the time you go to bed, you are surrounded by commercials: on television, in the newspapers, while browsing the Internet, and even social networks like Instagram have recently added advertising to their platform.
Are you looking for cheap gifts for your customers? Do you want to express your gratitude to the people who have supported you in the last year? Do you want to provide your customers, employees and business partners with something economic but also useful for their daily life? Yes! The pens with logo is a gift that is always in fashion!
The personalized pens are one of the most classic gifts for the holidays, and many continue to use them as a gift. But what is it that makes pens one of customers’ favorite gifts?
The advertising traditional, one defined offline, takes place in the “physical” world while online advertising is moving into the Internet; simplifying to the maximum we can take this distinction as good, even if in some circumstances the nuances between online and offline advertising are more subtle. But my goal is to make your life easier, indeed easy reading, so no technicalities and big words that can confuse and put you in difficulty, beyond your knowledge in this sector, whatever they may be.
Local advertising is an effective and convenient tool, sometimes even totally free, to get in touch with customers close to you. In this article we will find out how to use digital resources to advertise locally … and we will try to cover few questions those often rise in our mind when we talking about advertise locally …
- Why local advertising is important?
- Where to place online ads aimed at local customers?
- What are some special features of “local” ads?
Online advertising has changed the way sellers and buyers meet: once there were the Yellow Pages or the telephone directory, now it has been almost exclusively to search engines, online directories, review sites and social network. And while these digital tools are open to everyone, anywhere in the world, many also offer the opportunity to publicize their business with a local clientele.
In this article we will discover the basics of local advertising and how to exploit them for your business. We’ll find out why local ads are so important, where to buy space and what to do to narrow down the field to a local clients.
Why local advertising is important?
First of all, always remember that the Internet is everywhere. This means that if your bike shop is located in the east of New York, the inhabitants of the west of New York will find you online, but also those who live in New Jersey.
Assuming that those who live in New Jersey will not be very interested in going through a boot to make a purchase in your store, it is probably not a good idea to invest to advertise your business in New Jersey.
And this is precisely what characterizes local advertising: it allows you to limit the display of your ads to people in your area and who could become your client.
Where to place online ads for local customers?
You can place local advertising online through many different channels: search engines, local directories, review sites and social networks are the best places to start.
On search engines you can choose to show your ad when people enter certain search terms, and all major engines allow you to limit the display of ads to people who live only in certain areas and locations.
For example, if you choose “bicycle repair” as a keyword, you can create a campaign aimed only at those who type these terms and are within a radius of 10 kilometers from your store.
And then? Well, social networks like Facebook and LinkedIn offer professional pages, as well as paid ads targeted to local customers. Social networks are able to detect the position of people and, just like search engines, allow you to show your ads only to those nearby, through local and relevant messages.
Of course, local directories and review sites also offer opportunities to advertise locally. Apart from inserting your card, which is usually free, you can take advantage of paid features to show your ads in prominent positions, such as search results or even your competitors’ cards.
What are some special features of “local” ads?
Local advertising gives you the opportunity to take advantage of the presence of people in the vicinity of your store. First of all, your message can be targeted to those who are physically close to the store.
And some local advertising channels offer unique features.
You can in fact enter the opening hours or show the ads only when you are open.
Or you can guide customers with smartphones or mobile devices to your door with step-by-step directions, get in touch with just one click or even let them read the reviews you’ve received.
Local advertising can help you find customers near your business, offering you numerous channels and opportunities.
You can choose to use search engines, social networks, directories or review sites, limiting your advertising budget to those nearby, and take advantage of special features to bring out your business in the neighborhood.
Do you have a project in mind to grow your business and need help getting it done?
CYONWO is a team of web specialists. They design and develop “creative” and “result-oriented” digital solutions. They work with commitment and professionalism alongside their customers. They will love to contribute to the success of your projects for advertise locally.
When talking about graphic design applied to marketing and promotion strategies, it is important to remember that not all designers have the same skills, and in marketing matters, for any business, it is important to apply some rules or advice so that the design of all the marketing material has better possibilities of reaching its objective, which is to put in the minds of the people, and the print advertising that promotes and induce the public to purchase.
Also remember that when it comes to small businesses, there is a disadvantage against the large advertising companies that exist everywhere, however, these tips will help us to make printed material, ads, posters, postcards, cards of presentation, etc. They can compete with the greats and not get lost in the crowd.
1 – Avoid saturation
Too many elements in a small space can distract the eye of the viewer, the client or future client in this case, the use of too many graphic elements can make a card or advertising postcard very attractive, but as a marketing element, it can make it difficult for the recipient get the main message, that is why you have to always try to balance between space and image, so that the receiver’s eye can read the most important messages.
This is particularly important when space is limited, as in the case of business cards, flyers, advertising postcards, small brochures, etc.
2 – The size strategy
Try to use large images, instead of very small elements that can be difficult to read, large images in a negative space, tend to draw more attention of the reader.
3 – An image says more than a thousand words
The visual aspects tend to call more attention than words, however, we must try to maintain a balance between the image and the text used, should try to use the image as a reinforcement of the message, and not around. If you are going to combine image with text, try to have at least 50% of the same space on the page, if you need or think it is convenient to use a large image.
4 – Easy reading
Always try that your brochure, flyer or print advertising form, has an accommodation that is easy to read, since what you want to achieve is to read the important information contained in the marketing piece that you are delivering, besides, it is very important that you a look at all the texts and that the message you want to send is disseminated among the spectators around the printed element.
5 – Use of typography
We must take special care in the use of typographies, sizes and colors of the texts, use too many high letters (capital letters), it may seem like a good idea at times, and however, it is not, so we must try to keep the text in its proper proportion, between high and low letters.
You also have to limit the use of fonts, shapes and sizes, since this can give an impression of visual chaos, which would act to the detriment of your message in print advertising.
6 – The key is the consistency
Keeping the information where it is easiest to read and access for readers in any printed marketing element, is the key to such information being remembered and reaching the objective of the advertising material in question.
7 – Be consistent
Again this applies to the entire layout of any printed marketing element, be it advertising postcards, magazine ads, business cards, posters, etc. Maintaining consistency in the entire area of your brochure, card or ad, will make your advertising message be remembered, and above all be read.
The use and results of these print advertising tips will vary depending on the product and / or services that you want to promote.
The topic of the post is the definition of the target audience of the site, product and advertising on the Internet. In order to start an advertising campaign for a product or service, you need to take on the definition of the target audience, that is, the beginning of the demand itself.
It is demand that generates supply.
Therefore, you need to analyze who these people are, who are looking for our product or service. It is from this it is worth starting an advertising campaign. Now we will discuss where you can get the data.
Stand in the client’s place
You can stand in the client’s place and ask yourself the question: “I want to buy some goods (for example, TV). Who I am and why I need it.” Of course, TV is a fairly popular product, which contains very extensive types of target audience. CA for a product such as a TV will be very large.
Therefore, now the market has a huge number of models of TVs with different diagonals and functionality. It is such an extensive market that generates a large number of models, because manufacturers are trying to give each type of TV to each segment.
At the same time certain types of advertising campaigns are aimed at different segments of the target audience. That is, the first method is to become a customer and ask yourself simple questions. For example, here I wanted to buy some goods.
The first question that comes to my mind: “Why do I need this and why should I buy it?” Accordingly, we need to think about who those people are who want to buy this product and order such a service. Later we will analyze those questions that will help you make a portrait of the target audience.
Sales statistics for the target audience
The second way, which is aimed at determining the target audience, is sales statistics. When you create any advertising campaigns, the first thing you need to do is ask for sales statistics.
Even can be together with your advertiser you can do analytics (sales statistics, where information about those people who make purchases should be displayed). Based on this statistics, you can select several segments of the CA.
The statistics should be available information on the sales graph (where people buy). For example, they buy more from Moscow or from other regions.
There should also be statistics on sex and age. This statistic is also important. In fact, this includes geographical and sex-age statistics (sex and age).
This is very important in order to further develop segments of the target audience. That is, you take the sales statistics, see who made the most purchases and further downward.
As a result, we make segments of CA based on sales statistics. It is for these segments of the audience then it will be necessary to develop advertising campaigns.
Web Analytics Data
The third way that will help to describe the target audience is web analytics data. In web analytics systems (for example, in the Google Analytics) there is a special report “sex-age structure”. Here we do a few simple steps.
First, we need to install on our site web analytics counters. Secondly, you can simply set up goals on the site. For example, to purchase goods, subscribe, send an order form or feedback.
And thirdly, after some time of gathering information, you need to look at a special report called “sex-age structure”. I will tell you more about this method in another material.
In principle, we have analyzed three simple methods that will help you to determine the target audience for further successful advertising. Be sure to collect all the statistics for your CA so that you can then properly manage the advertising campaign.
You should always know your target audience and who is your client. I think in the future you will not have questions in how to determine the target audience.
In this article I will talk with you about the definition of target audience. Here you will learn what the target audience of advertising is and what its features are.
What is the target audience of advertising?
So, what is the target audience? Target audience – these are people who are interested in a particular product or service. For the most part, some products or services are designed based on the needs or problems that exist for some specific people or companies.
That is, the right service or product must have demand, since there is a specific problem and need.
Accordingly, a product or service must solve this problem and satisfy the needs of a person or company. It is this kind of product and service that will be successfully promoted in the market.
For each service there is a segmented target audience. This is a certain community of people who are interested in buying or ordering this product.
In principle, the concept of the target audience of advertising is quite simple. It is a community of people who are interested in our specific products or services.
Keep Reading: How To Promote Your Local Business
Features of the target audience of advertising
Now let’s examine the main features of the target audience. Please note that the target audience of advertising in its structure is not uniform. There are different categories of people in the CA. For maximum convenience, let’s divide it into three large classes:
- Potential buyers – Those people who are looking for certain information. For example, a brand of Citroen car is interesting to curious people. They just look for some kind of information on some specific request.
- Seekers – These are people who already have some information and currently choose a product or service. For example, if a person searches for Citroën C4 Review, he or she already selects a specific product. It is clear that here the user is interested in reviewing and describing some characteristics, reviews of the Citroën C4 car.
- Buyers – These are people who have already chosen the right product and are only looking for a specific seller so that you can buy this product. Such a participant can be characterized, for example, by the request “Citroen S4 Ontario to buy.” There is a clear concept of what to buy. That is, the product has already been selected. There are already additional components of the query. This is a geographical (Ontario) and a transaction element (buy). A transaction is a user’s desire to do something. In our case, this is “buy”. But depending on the market, there may be words: order, dealer and others.
Keep Reading: How To Calculate The Effectiveness Of Advertising Online
Types of target audience of advertising
Let’s take a closer look at each type of target audience …
As you can see, there are three different types of target audience. It is based on these types and you need to customize your advertising campaign. Three types of target audience are three large CAs, which consist of several segments.
Potential buyers are those people who could potentially buy our goods. That is, in our example they are looking for information about cars and most likely, this information is important to them and very interesting. Therefore, potentially these people could buy our goods.
The second kind is those people who could buy our goods. That is, in our case, if a person is looking for information about Citroën C4, then it is quite possible to buy our goods. A visitor chooses a car, he needs it and he has a need for it.
And the last kind is the buyers. These are the people who are buying now. They specifically want to buy something and are looking for a specific seller of this product.
Look at the picture above, each of these species become less and less. A lot of potential buyers. Those people who could buy, they are already less. And those who want to buy at the moment, they are even smaller.
It’s still a kind of sales funnel. The funnel is to what extent users are interested in buying our products or in ordering services.
So, you already know what the target audience of advertising is, its basic concept and definition. Also, you know all of its types, characteristics and features for these species.
Let’s talk now about the effectiveness of advertising online. In this article, I will touch on such important indicators as the conversion rate, click through rate and return on investment.
Thus, I will talk about each of these terms, and show you how to calculate the effectiveness of advertising online. So, let’s get started!
What is Conversion Rate (CR)?
Conversion Rate or CR – Usually when we speak of conversion rate, we mean that the site, which are all the ads and all the target users, set a specific goal.
Let’s imagine that we have an online store, the purpose of which is to buy goods. For example, on a site within a day comes 2000 visitors. At the same time, a certain number of these visitors make a targeted action (purchase of goods).
Suppose that only 13 visitors made a purchase of the goods. In this case, the conversion is the ratio of the number of users who committed the targeted action to the total number of visitors, multiplied by 100%.
How can you calculate this indicator?
In our case, the evaluation of the effectiveness of advertising will be as follows …
CONVERSION = 13/2000 * 100% = 0.65%
As a result, the conversion was 0.65%. It is the conversion that largely determines the success of the advertising online campaign.
And there will be success on the part of the advertiser’s website, because the effectiveness of advertising online can be increased due to internal factors (landing pages) and external factors (advertisements). That is, increasing conversion is a very important factor in successful advertising campaign.
Keep Reading: The Concepts Of Online Advertising
What is Click Through Rate (CTR)?
Click-Through-Rate or CTR – The number of clicks for the number of impressions. The clickability determines to what extent your advertising material is attractive. That is, how well an advertisement is made, selected, written and how well the banner is made.
It is clickability CTR is a very important indicator of the effectiveness of advertising online. That is, the conversion rate is the efficiency on the advertiser’s side (on landing pages). And clickability is an indicator of efficiency on the side of the advertising system.
How can you calculate this indicator?
Let’s imagine that we have created a contextual announcement, which for the week scored 3700 hits. That is, 3700 users saw our advertisement.
Of these users, only 87 people clicked on our ad. In fact, we received 87 targeted conversions to the site. Let’s calculate the clickability …
CTR = 87/3700 * 100% = 2.35%
Quite good clickability turned out. For contextual advertising it is low. And for banner advertising this is a very good indicator.
So, click-through rate shows the effectiveness of advertising online on the side of the advertising platform. That is, it shows how well we prepared an advertising campaign.
Keep Reading: 8 Tips For Advertising Online
What is Return On Investment (ROI)?
Next we have a global indicator, which should be monitored by an advertising specialist so that advertising is not an easy source of traffic, but also a source of profit.
You need to track not only the number and cost of clicks (for example, the cost of subscribers or applications for credit). It is necessary to keep track of the amount of money that is returned to the business. So, this is a measure of return on investment (ROI).
How can you calculate this indicator?
Let’s assume that we conducted an advertising campaign with a budget of 100,000 dollars. Caused a number of visitors to the site (for example, in the online store). At the same time, it was with this advertising campaign that orders for the amount of 370,000 dollars were paid.
The costs associated with these orders were 75,000 dollars. It turns out that the net profit was 295,000 dollars. Return on investment will be equal to …
ROI = (295,000 – 100,000) / 100,000 * 100% = 195%
Now I will explain the meaning of return on investment, as the most important indicator of the effectiveness of advertising online. So, imagine that you spend 100,000 dollars on advertising, while you also have a net profit of 100,000 dollars.
Then it turns out that the return on investment is 0%. Thus, the result means a point of profitability. We spend 100,000 dollars and get 100,000 dollars of net profit. We do not have additional profit, but at the same time we pay back all the costs for online advertising.
In order for advertising to be really effective in the context of profit accounting, it is necessary that the ROI be above zero. If we have ROI negative, then we simply lose money and put them in the wrong advertisement. With negative ROI, advertising does not pay off.
Therefore, it is for ROI to be guided when evaluating the effectiveness of advertising online. This is the most important metric in terms of business.
That is, you are doing some kind of test advertising campaign, look at the ROI and count. If the return on investment is positive, then you can increase the investment in this type of advertising.
If the indicator is slightly negative, you can reconfigure advertising campaigns or somehow improve the site’s efficiency (for example, increase the conversion of advertising pages) and bring ROI to a positive value.
If the indicator is strongly negative, then such a source of advertising will not pay off further. It is ROI is a very important indicator of the effectiveness of advertising online, which guides business owners. Therefore, a specialist should be able to calculate ROI for various advertising campaigns.
So, we have analyzed the main indicators that characterize the effectiveness of advertising online. Now you know what is CR, CTR and ROI.
Also, it should not be difficult to correctly calculate and determine these parameters. In general, for a successful advertising campaign online, be sure to pay attention to such indicators. These indicators will help you calculate the effectiveness of advertising online.
A common mistake many owners of small and medium businesses – an attempt to sell their goods to everyone. “Well, we have such cool fans / cases for smartphones / online courses!” It’s time to put up with the truth: your product is not needed by anyone, because the choice on the market is always great and there are many competitors. Therefore, advertising online is an important fact for all kinds of business.
Whom, in the end, the buyer chooses, depends on the advertisement, which should be higher in the search, more convincing and attractive than your competitors. It is highly desirable that the cost of attracting your potential client at the same time remains within reasonable limits.
Here are some practical tips to help you achieve this goal …
1) Do not cut budgets, but increase expertise
Most entrepreneurs are familiar with the basic tools of advertising online, and, it would seem, everyone knows how. Nevertheless, an experienced consultant after a cursory review will say that up to 30% of the advertising budget is spent inefficiently. The costs of network marketing can be conditionally divided into two full parts. The first of these is money, which, however, determines only half of the efficiency. The second is the effort you put in, the experience you apply and the new ideas.
By setting the right goals, choosing the tools that are optimal for yourself and not lazy to establish control points, you can double the effectiveness of advertising online.
Whatever promotional tools you use, they cannot do without your direct involvement, so the best way to optimize costs is not to cut the budget, but to pay closer attention to detail and nuances. In this, modern technologies for analyzing audiences, cost of clicks, choice of sites, etc., are very helpful. These are tools that must be learned to use.
2) Make a portrait of the ideal client
The basis of any advertising online is target audiences. Three things are important here: division, division and once again division. Identify a group of potential customers, break it into subgroups, and then do the same with them. Consider the maximum number of criteria: gender, age, marital status, income, place of residence, education, social status, hobby, place of work, psychological comfort, political beliefs, pets, favorite sport, lactose intolerance, favorite colors, etc.
The girl at 18, at 24, at 29 and at age 35 is four different people. Just like a bachelor, married or having children a man. It is important even the time spent in marriage – 1 year, 5 years or 10 years. Does your potential client live in a city of a million people or just in the regional center? How fast is their Internet, how often does they go online with a smartphone?
Do your clients prefer a country holiday? Use in advertising online associations with nature. Their prosperity is above average? Then, environmental friendliness and “new developments” are important. Do they partially overlap with gamblers? Then the word “discounts” will be more effective. Do they have more than two children? Use calm messages and focus on comfort and reliability. Sometimes the solutions are not obvious, but they are extremely simple. The same pet stores target the owners of private houses as the target audience. Why? As statistics show, they are three times more likely to breed pets.
Continue Reading: Advice and The Best Strategies To Better Write an Ad Copy
3) Select the correct message
The resulting client groups are best summarized in an Excel spreadsheet: an average of 5 to 12 lines will be obtained. In the first column there is a conventional symbol of the ideal client, in the second – its typical interests, in the third – situations in which it can stir up interest in your products or services, in the fourth – network portals that they usually visit, where they search for information, read experts or exchange tips, in the fifth – messages that can attract attention. The sixth column is a priority promotion model.
I advise you to divide all clients into those who are actively searching and those who do not plan anything, but may be interested. This is important to consider when writing a message. For the first – a short and highly competitive information. For the second – the fascinating chips.
4) Do not impose, but entertain
Direct contact with the client is an important part of both sales and targeting. Any action, any discounts and special offers should be tried taking into account the maximum information about the client: gender, age, incomes, interests, priorities, opinions – all this should be included in the short questionnaire. If someone receives a financial bonus, he is more likely to sacrifice a couple of minutes of his time.
There is a more elegant way – tests. And not commercial, but most entertaining. “Find out which of the Hollywood actors you look like”, “In which country of the world you were supposed to be born” or “How your friends see you”. But why is this necessary? It’s simple. First, make yourself a list of questions that you would like to ask a potential client, and then reformulate everything as if he should understand your “strengths” from your questions.
A simple example. Do you want to understand if your clients are keen on sports? Question test: “How would you like to spend one of the holidays?” Conditional options: pictures with a bicycle, a TV, a book, a mug of beer. Want to create a new packaging for the product and hesitate, which color scheme to choose? Then in one of the items put photos of neutral landscapes with different combinations of colors and evaluate the results. In the final test, give a set of 8-10 abstract results, any of which is extremely flattering to the client. What for? Users like to share these results in their stream, and you get good feedback and free clicks.
5) Separate the “passengers” from customers
Surely most of you regularly receive from your employees a report on the amount of traffic to the site. But absolute numbers should not mislead you: if it’s free traffic, then the rule is simple: the bigger it is, the better for you.
If you use promotional tools, it is important to divide the visitors into customers and “passengers”.
Here we look at the cost of attraction and conversion. We want more sales – we set up targeted and contextual advertising online, we wait on the site of ordinary visitors – we work with social networks and publications in the media. So immediately put advertisers the right tasks, any report must necessarily contain conversion numbers, so that there was an opportunity to minimize expenses for sites from which “one-click” visitors come.
Continue Reading: Contextual Advertising: The Way To Get To The First Page Of Search
6) Offer interesting content
Despite the “overfeeding” of Internet users with information, meaningful and interesting projects can promote themselves. Here the first place is not the budget, but the quality of the content. You already know your potential audience and areas of interest, make it a point of reference. The ideal post for social networks should be small, emotional, charged, carry something new, accompanied by a picture-lure.
SMM-specialists are quoted in the advertising online market low, but they take a little for their services. The only reason to resort to their help is to make several posts look super-popular (with dozens of reposts and hundreds of likes). And let the overwhelming majority of these “active users” be completely useless as customers, they will create their share of visibility.
In social media, you can use the technology of partial post locking: to read the text in full, the user should bring your page to friends or put it. As the statistics show, about 0.3-0.5% of people visiting the page mark it as they liked, just to get access to the main content: after all, to see how a hamster eats tiny sausages, one can make a non-binding click.
7) Make your posts super popular
For most companies, the only reason to engage in SMM can only be the generation of well-distributed content. Recover the time and financial costs of working in social networks can only be provided a large number of likes and reposts. If this does not happen, then the corporate blog is no more than a mirror of the company’s website. How to successfully distribute your content on the network?
For big prizes – luxury smartphone and laptop – with the right positioning you can get a few thousand reposts. By the way, it is not necessary to expose your own goods (especially if you do not have them), you can connect partners. For example, at one time I had a contract, which offered the opportunity for users to download e-books from their library for free. And since interesting publications can be selected for almost any target audience, this partnership looked very worthy and brought a good result.
Another technique for distributing content is to attract paid “volunteers”. There are many users on the network who earn mini-SMM campaigns among their friends and subscribers. Their services cost a minimum of money, the achieved figures are easily read, and the final price can be reduced by offering recommendations, lines on the resume or long-term contract.
Continue Reading: How to Improve Your Ads on Google AdWords without Spending More!
8) Use the video
To promote your company, you can use not only a text format, it is excellent, if your business, goods and services can be accompanied by a video. Videoblogs, reviews, master classes and are a promotion strategy designed for a long time. If the time of active life of the text is one to two days, then the videos are viewed during the year, and sometimes they can shoot after a considerable time after filling. In terms of information noise, most users, including even teenage girls, have learned to identify advertising online content in the first few seconds. Therefore, show cleverness: videos on your subject will be most in demand with maximum informativeness and bringing practical examples that will be useful to ordinary Internet users. This is a great way to tell about the business for free.
Some more useful tips
In your advertising online campaign there will certainly be failures, surprises and force major. But this does not mean that risks cannot be reduced.
First, always store all information in at least two independent databases. Optimum use of not only your own equipment, but also cloud storage.
Secondly, by hiring a contractor-outsourcer, talk to his competitors, in advance learn the working conditions with them, in order to switch to a reserve option in case of surprises. If you work with speakers or experts, be prepared that at the last minute they can cancel any activities, and prepare for the speeches of internal specialists.
Counting the load on your site, immediately calculate the maximum possible value in the current year, and then increase it by five times, because no one canceled the suddenly shooting stock, seasonal fluctuations and a holiday factor. Have access to a site from mobile devices – in all offices there are problems with the electric power, and at any providers – with communication. Finally, make it your habit to put yourself in the shoes of customers. Evaluate your advertising online not as a seller, but as a buyer.
Good Ad Copy is the one and only bridge between your landing pages and all the potential customers who search online for products and services like yours. The way it is written affects your rankings in paid search results and click costs.
The copy of a PPC ad is much more important than what most people realize.